top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Enright

Self Care

One of the not so great things about consistently working out is the raised cortisol levels in the body. Exercise is perceived by the body as a form of stress and therefore increases the levels of this hormone. Recently I've been feeling the effects of this and have noticed an increase in my stress levels, so I thought I'd share my favourite ways to combat this!


1. Taking rest days:

As therapeutic as the gym is for me, I know in order to see the best possible results and feel the best mentally that I can, I need to take rest days. I love to move my body and get in some form of activity so on rest days I still like to do a form of exercise that's low stress on the body, like Pilates, yoga or swimming.


2. Meditating:

Meditating is definitely something I've had to learn how to do, and I initially found it really difficult to just sit with my thoughts and let my mind rest. Using meditation apps like Headspace and Stop, Breathe, Think have really helped me as they guide you through particular meditations depending on your mood and teach you to focus on your breathing. I also like to put my focus into a physical object when meditating, like a crystal or a lit candle.


3. Eating "happy foods":

Certain foods have been proven to help keep cortisol levels stable and help prevent them from spiking. These include: Dark chocolate, Green tea, Bananas and Pears and Probiotics in foods with soluble fibre.


4. Doing something creative:

Being someone who naturally loves having a creative outlet, doing things that put me into a state of flow or creative mindset really helps. I love writing, doing elaborate makeup looks, jewellery making and creating content. Reading books and watching documentaries that inspire me also helps to put me into a state of creativity and a happier calmer mindset.


5. Protecting your vibe:

Be mindful of who you're spending your time with, and what you're putting your thoughts into. Spend time with people who lift you up and who genuinely love you and want the best for you. Spending time around people who are very negative will drain your energy. Move on from them in a positive and loving way. Wish the best for them but know when it is time to close that chapter of your life.


Stay happy and positive and make the last half of the year the best half :)


- H x


183 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page