top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Enright

The Timekeeper - Short Story

Although he doesn’t know it yet, on January 14th, at 73 years of

age, Andrew will rest eternally at his late wife’s side. On March

4th, at 29 years, he and his wife will have their first child. On

October 18th, when he is 26, they will be married in a small,

quaint ceremony amongst family, and in just a few minutes, at

the age of 24, he will meet his wife-to-be at this coffee shop

after accidentally spilling coffee on her. I know these things

because I am here to make sure he trips.

Such is the role of a Time Keeper: one untethered from time to

ensure others’ lives abide by the schedule. Normally my

assignments aren’t as involved, and normally I would welcome

a little extra involvement, but to be perfectly honest, this time

I’m a little jealous. I’m here to connect two lives, while I’m

alienated from connection. I’ll be here for the next few

minutes, oversee this happening before I jump off to another

time, another person, another situation to watch over. I have

been doing this for as long as I can remember, and I will admit, it

weighs on me.

For now, though, I find a half-moment’s peace in this crowded

coffee shop, wrapped around my steaming mug. I resent the

occasional scream of the milk steamer which interrupts the

otherwise relaxed atmosphere. Nobody else seems to notice it,

though; every ounce of their attention is absorbed by their

laptops or iPads – my eyes alone dart around the room. It

would take the accident I am here to arrange to break the ice.

Even in this room full of people, I couldn’t feel more isolated,

being here to make sure two future lovers meet. I already know

the conclusion of their story - it ends well; they are happy

until their dying days. If only they knew what was about to

transpire – they are going to meet that person they have been

looking for their whole lives. I count down the seconds until

things happen as everyone else’s lives go on.

Cue the bride-to-be – right on time. She’s not nearly as good

looking as I had imagined; a little pudgy around the middle, and

wearing slightly too much makeup. She’s slouching a bit as if

she isn’t too confident; my file says she hasn’t dated anybody in

a while, so that probably has something to do with it.

Apparently he will find her nice enough, though, since their

timelines don’t part after this.

My thoughts and emotions are so loud in my head, I swear

everyone within ten feet must be able to hear. She has to be

able to feel my eyes on her back… I hope she doesn’t notice my

attention following her. The only empty table is right next to

me.

She looks different sitting across from me; up closer, she has

sad eyes, weary eyes. I know that look well: of one who has

been alone too long, and has resigned herself to such a fate. I

might as well trade places with her – I sure wish I could. Making

me set people up is like making a starving child serve dinner.

It just isn’t fair. Why should I arrange love while I have yet to

find it? I wonder, what if I didn’t trip him? She already knows

loneliness, and I can testify that it doesn’t kill a person. We all

learn to live with our circumstances, right? It is my choice, after

all, to go through with my orders or not. Let the consequences

fall as they may. I don’t care.

It appears that Andrew may have heard me because there he is

walking through the door as if to protest. If only you knew the

power I have over you: this next minute of your life will

determine the rest. You were strangers yesterday, are

strangers today, and could be strangers still tomorrow; you

could go along with your day as you otherwise would and never

know the difference. Maybe if she doesn’t notice you, or you,

her. Oh, but she has already. I recognize that look, that initial

spark in her eye. Don’t look her way and this will all be just

another unreturned smile.

He met her glance: connection. He is walking this way. Oh,

brutal responsibility. I am here to keep the schedule. I am here

burned by bitterness and loneliness. He approaches. Closer. I

am conflicted. My foot extends almost on its own. He trips. The

mug goes flying. Yelps and arms flail. Apologies and napkins

scramble. There’s coffee everywhere.

What a mess. But such is love.

59 views1 comment
bottom of page