top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Enright

Healthy breakfasts for fat loss

1. Yogurt, fruit and granola:

High protein plant based yogurts like Alpro Greek Style and the Coconut Collective are perfect as a breakfast in the morning! Combine with some granola and fruit for energy boosting carbs and some nuts or nut butter for healthy fats - it’s been really important for me to include all the different food macro groups in my meals during weight loss in order to stay balanced.


2. Protein Shakes:

Recently, adding some plant based protein powder (I use plant powers vanilla hempseed flavour) to my smoothies in the morning has been giving me a more sustained and slow release of energy throughout the day. My favourite kind is the Green Glow shake, which suggests blending 2 scoops of the protein powder with 1 cup of frozen pineapple, 1 cup of spinach and 1 cup of almond milk. It’s easy to think you need lots of different fruits in a smoothie but keeping it simple and only adding one or two fruits and then some leafy greens helps to lower the sugar content so as not to spike your blood sugar early in the day.


3. Protein Pancakes:

These are definitely my favourite breakfast item! The recipe I normally use is: 2 scoops vanilla plant power protein powder, 1 cup of gluten free flour, 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, 1 mashed banana/ chia “egg” and 2 cups of almond milk. I top them with chopped strawberries, maple syrup and a little more cinnamon and they literally taste like cake!


4. Avocado toast:

My favourite breakfast when I want something savoury is avocado toast - possibly the most generic breakfast ever! But it’s famous for good reason. Avocados are an amazing source of healthy fats and have a whole host of benefits such as being full of amazing nutrients and antioxidants. While this is a higher calorie breakfast generally, the avocados in it will serve to keep you feeling fuller for longer, thus normally reducing snacking throughout the day!


These are my 5 go to breakfasts in the morning and I now really look forward to waking up and eating them every day! It’s so important to nourish your body at the start of your day in order to set the right tone for your eating patterns - remember that food is a form of self care and is there to be enjoyed :)



55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page